TASK Holds 45th Annual General Meeting and Elections, Elects New Leadership to Propel Tourism Development


Srinagar: The Travel Agents Society of Kashmir (TASK) convened its 45th Annual General Meeting (AGM) on May 18th, 2024, at the esteemed venue of Hotel Palm Spring in Wazir Bagh, Srinagar. This pivotal event not only celebrated the Society’s legacy but also marked a significant juncture in its journey towards fostering sustainable tourism development in the Kashmir region.

The AGM witnessed the presence of distinguished guests, each a stalwart in their respective domains, including Mr. Malik Waseem (JKAS), Deputy Director Tourism, Kashmir (Recreation); Mr. Nissar Rasool, Assistant Director Tourism Kashmir (Registration); and Mr. Mushtaq Chaya, a luminary in the hospitality sector as the owner of Chaya Group. Also gracing the occasion were the President and General Secretary of the Kashmir Chamber of Commerce and Industry, alongside heads of various travel and tourism associations, underscoring the collaborative spirit driving the industry’s growth.

A cornerstone of the AGM was the democratic process of electing new office bearers and members to the managing committee, signaling a fresh chapter in TASK’s trajectory. After a robust and healthy election, Mr. Mohammad Ibrahim Siah emerged as the President of the Travel Agents Society of Kashmir, bringing with him a wealth of experience and a vision for elevating the Society’s role in shaping Kashmir’s tourism landscape.

Joining Mr. Siah in steering TASK’s mission forward are Mr. Ali Mohammad Shangloo, elected as Vice President, and Mr. Waseem Goosani, assuming the mantle of Honorary Secretary General. The executive team further comprises Mr. Maqsood Badyari as Honorary Joint Secretary and Mr. Sajid Altaf Baktoo as Honorary Treasurer, each committed to advancing TASK’s objectives with diligence and dedication.

Moreover, the AGM witnessed the election of several esteemed members to the managing committee, who will work in tandem with the executive team to chart out strategic initiatives and foster collaborations for the betterment of Kashmir’s tourism ecosystem. The newly elected committee members include Zaffar Ahmad Boktoo, Sheikh Bashir Ahmad, Ashraf Guru, Sheikh Abdul Ahad, Sameer Boktoo, Nehnaaz Bhat, Manzoor Ahmad Ratta, Bilal Ahmad Malik, and Manzoor Ahmad, representing diverse perspectives and expertise crucial for driving TASK’s agenda.

In a moment of profound recognition, an award and commendation ceremony was conducted during the AGM, wherein Mr. Ghulam Hassan Wangnoo was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his exemplary contributions to the tourism industry in Kashmir. Mr. Wangnoo’s dedication, vision, and unwavering commitment to advancing tourism have left an indelible mark on the sector, inspiring generations of industry professionals.

The overwhelming turnout and active participation during the AGM underscore the deep-seated commitment of TASK’s members towards the advancement of tourism in Kashmir. With a renewed leadership at its helm and a dedicated team steering its operations, TASK stands poised to lead the charge in promoting responsible tourism practices, fostering industry innovation, and showcasing the rich cultural heritage and natural beauty of Kashmir to the world.

Network KNT

Network Kashmir is sister concern of Kashmir based News Agency Kashmir News Trust. Network KNT is a sincere attempt from budding Journalists of Kashmir to present News in its true form without any favoritism and bias.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button